Why it’s hard to tell which tooth has the ache

When it comes to a toothache, the brain doesn’t discriminate. A new imaging study shows that to the brain, a painful upper tooth feels a lot like a painful lower tooth. The results, which will be published in the journal Pain, help explain why patients are notoriously bad at pinpointing a toothache.

Excerpt from Wired.com.

I’ve never realized that. When I had my wisdom tooth removed, the greater the pain, the more I feel that something is wrong with my whole teeth. But, if it was just a normal toothache, I think I know where it hurts. Maybe, it depends on the intense of the ache.

Posted via email from arya [at] posterous

Author: aryadn

blogger, microblogger, professional mining engineer, metallurgist by education, interested in mobile-street photography.