What will you ask Einstein if you had a chance?

This morning I read an article on OMG-Facts that Einstein was offered the presidency of Israel, but he turned it down. It’s not about why he turned down the offer that interested me. It was his idea of “living together in peace” that struck my mind. 

I should much rather see reasonable agreement with the Arabs on the basis of living together in peace than the creation of a Jewish state. My awareness of the essential nature of Judaism resists the idea of a Jewish state with borders, an army, and a measure of temporal power, no matter how modest. I am afraid of the inner damage Judaism will sustain — especially from the development of a narrow nationalism within our own ranks, against which we have already had to fight strongly, even without a Jewish state.

 

Excerpt from OMG-Facts – as above link.

 

Somehow, I do think that people would need to be hit/hurt/failed quite hard to realize the reality. There are two possibilities as the outcome of this situation: (1) After the hit, he would become a low-level human being; the one that accept any condition and situation that might fall on him, (2) After the hit, he would fight for his life, fight for another chance of success. I’ve seen those kind of people, both of them. And believe me that it is difficult to turn the first man into second one after he decided to become one.

 

Back to the Einstein and “living together in peace”, I, personally, think that Einstein has crossed a line where he realized that the reality of creating a Jewish state can cause lots of damages. Damages to people, damages to hope, damages to peace. Unfortunately idea does not die, and sadly Einstein did not fight for a chance to develop a reasonable agreement on the basis of living together in peace.

 

If I had one chance to meet him, I’d like to ask him “Why didn’t he take the chance to create a balance, a peace, the way he want it to be?”

Author: aryadn

blogger, microblogger, professional mining engineer, metallurgist by education, interested in mobile-street photography.