Mudik indicates a centralized development in Indonesia to its capital city

I read once, several days ago (sadly I can't refer to any sources on this matter) that 15.5 million Jakartans would likely to go mudik on Y10 Lebaran days. I must say that I was bit shocked, not by the number, but by the thought that this number has been causing, intentionally or unintentionally – directly or indirectly, daily jam in Jakarta.

I was wondering if cities developments distribution which led to economy growth distribution and people welfare and community development distribution are well managed and well decentralized through out cities of Indonesia, would those people occupied Jakarta?

Let's move the capital city of Indonesia to somewhere else, if a capital city is what it takes to have such economic welfare as an attraction.

Author: aryadn

blogger, microblogger, professional mining engineer, metallurgist by education, interested in mobile-street photography.