In Mongolia, you’re not just developing your company to survive but developing the country as well

Investors keen to reap the benefits of Mongolia’s untapped mineral riches have shifted their focus from copper and gold to coal, with energy-hungry neighbor China as a key customer.

Excerpt from The Jakarta Globe.

I have friends (let me call them friend) out there in northern part of Mongolia, starting up coal mining operation in an extreme weather condition, which is called MoEnCo. They told me that they have to build around 1,000 km road to mobilize their equipments. That’s major infrastructure development, I must say. I told them that they’re not just starting up a company but developing their country. And, they didn’t even know what corporate social responsibility is.

Author: aryadn

blogger, microblogger, professional mining engineer, metallurgist by education, interested in mobile-street photography.